Cyber Security

A Guide to Cyber Security Certifications

A degree is just going to carry you up the career ladder so far. At any point in your career it might be appropriate to receive an IT security credential from a credible third-party organization (e.g. you are moving jobs, the work market is competitive, you need expertise, etc.). Because the acronyms alone are strong enough to drive you nuts, we have formed this clear and concise guide to getting accreditation. You may want to skip ahead of our breakdown of major certification organizations if you already know the basics.


The Basics

Certifications of cybersecurity come in all subjects and shapes – from forensic work to interference to ethical hacking. Typically, they are managed by independent certification organizations, such as EC Council, ISACA, CompTIA, GIAC, and (ISC)2.

Certification organizations often break down their programs into 3 groups: entry, intermediate, and expert level.

  • Entry-level credentials are supposed to place you on the basics – principles of the foundation, important tools, best practices, the latest technologies, etc.
  • Certification of intermediate and expert-level assume that you have broad professional experience and a nice grasp of the topic.

Regardless of the level or topic:

  • Certifications for IT security can be utilized across occupations and organizations. 
  • The credentialing procedure, for the most part, comprises preparing and a final test. 
  • Certifications are to be periodically updated (every 3/4 years).
  • You’ll need to have continuing education credits and the capability to finish the teat to be re-accredited.

Costs & Commitment

It is up to you when you decide to obtain your cybersecurity certification. If you have the talents, when you are an undergraduate there is nothing to stop you from starting out. An identifiable certification will on your resume which will catch the recruiting managers’ attention.

We are not going to blow up your proverbial smoke. Certification can be time-consuming and expensive. It can take three to nine months to finish an entry-level credential and set you back $300-$600 for the exam.

Certifications to Choose

You might commence by considering certifications When it comes to entry-level training such as:

CompTIA Security+

SSCP — Systems Security Certified Practitioner

GSEC — GIAC Security Essentials Certification

Take the time to compare GSEC and CompTIA Security+. GSEC has a strong industry reputation and is approved Baseline Information Assurance for DoD 8570. On the other hand, Security+ is one of the most recognized certifications for beginners jncip-sp dumps.

Some Security Certification Resources

Cybersecurity Training and Education Catalog

NICCS keeps up an exceptional posting of all cybersecurity and cybersecurity-related training and education courses offered in the U.S. The index at present contains in excess of 1,300 courses. You can search by specialty area, delivery method, proficiency level, and keyword.

Josh More’s Security Certification Blog Series

It’s a couple of years old, but insider’s view of “Josh More” on the upsides and downsides of credentials makes for fascinating perusing. He’s also developed a statistical approach for determining a qualification’s total learning value. What would be more beneficial, a Ph.D. in Network Engineering or certification like jncie vs ccie

Tom’s Security Certification Section for IT Pro 

Tom’s IT Pro has dozens of security certification blog posts and articles. We are special fans of the advice column of Ed Tittel, where he provides career guidance to security professionals worldwide., founded by Ralph Sita, Jr. and Ryan Corey, is an online cybersecurity community offering dozens of free training courses. For example, students interested in CompTIA credential can prepare by registering in a free CompTIA A+ Certification Training course at Cybrary. Peruse the courses by level of expertise or subject, connect with others in the online community, and browse cybersecurity job listings.


Below you can find a list of 13 certification bodies for cybersecurity and notes on a few of their more common accreditations. Those institutions are also listed on the National Cybersecurity Education Initiative (NICE) website. The big ones –EC Council, CompTIA, ISACA, GIAC, and (ISC)2 – are the Cybersecurity Credentials Collaborative (C3) members, a step to encourage the advantages of credentials in the improvement of the talents of cybersecurity experts around the globe.


Although it’s not near to vendor-neutral, we needed to ensure Cisco was added to our certification bodies list. Partly since Cisco’s CCNA Security certification for DoD Information Assurance Specialist Levels I and II have been approved by the Department of Defense (DoD).

Cisco’s security certifications have tiered into 4 experience levels:

  • CCNA Security
  • CCNP Security
  • CCIE Security


CompTIA gives various vendor-neutral IT credentials, containing 16 tests for the networking, cloud, servers, security, Linux, and more. 

Popular security credentials include: 

  • CompTIA Security+
  • CompTIA Network+ 
  • CASP — CompTIA Advanced Security Practitioner 

GIAC — Global Information Assurance Certification

Established in 1999 by SANS, GIAC gives in excess of 20 occupation-based cybersecurity credentials, comprising assessments for data forensics, security, and software security.

If you have an interest in the certification of GIAC, you may wish to investigate:

  • GSEC — GIAC Security Essentials Certification
  • GCIH — GIAC Certified Incident Handler
  • GPEN — GIAC Certified Penetration Tester

CWNP: Certified Wireless Network Professional

Established in 1999, CWNP has built up a progression of vendor-neutral training exams and programs, including 4 specialized professional certification levels for Enterprise Wi-Fi.

The most applicable security capabilities are: 

CWNE — Certified Wireless Network Expert

CWSP — Certified Wireless Security Professional 


Established in 1969, ISACA is a worldwide non-profit institution that gives practical benchmarks, guidance, and effective tools for all organizations that utilize data systems. It has a Center of Knowledge where individuals can shared interest groups, participate in communities, document sharing, and discussions. What’s more, its Cybersecurity Nexus (CSX) is the main area for cybersecurity guidance, education, research, and certifications. ISACA has a good reputation and has been around for a long time.

The organization provides certifications in CRISC, CGEIT, CISA, and CISM: Certified Information Security Manager. Like CISSP and CompTIA, CISM was also included in the Top Ten list of Cyber Security Certifications.

DRI International

DRI International was established in 1988 and is a non-profit organization that provides global certification and education in disaster recovery and business continuity planning. It has more than twelve thousand certified professionals active around the world.

Intermediate-level DRII certification: CBCP — Certified Business Continuity Professional is the most popular certification. If you need any more information then check my source.